(copy 1)

*SAVE THE DATE* Making Cities Fit for the Future

Event 1: Wednesday 23rd September  11:00 – 12:30 CEST 
Cities Racing to Zero – urban responses to the climate emergency

This digital event, in collaboration with BABLE smart cities, will explore innovative and ambitious approaches to reaching net-zero emissions at the city-level, with a focus on urban mobility concepts. An interactive format will allow for networking and provide an engaging space for city stakeholders, citizens and experts to explore together solutions and ideas for the urban transition. 
 

Event 2: Friday 25th September  10.30-11.30 CEST 
On green spaces we all are equal - versatile spaces for the city of the future

What makes life in our cities so special is the variety of life scripts that can be developed, which is both a challenge and a freedom at the same time. The current pandemic has shown how fast advantages can turn into disadvantages, because cities are particularly exposed to the dictates of a viral outbreak due to their density and also their reliance on uninterrupted supply chains. Nonetheless, urban areas hold a great creative potential.

Today, more than ever, open and green spaces are a fundamental part of cities, they guarantee a certain freedom, because in these places we can experience and foster diversity, meet and relax in an informal way. Green and open spaces therefore require special attention from planning disciplines and from urban development institutions. Open spaces, whether they are designed at ground level or on rooftops, must be thought of as versatile spaces, because this is where their strength lies: Rainwater reservoirs, ventilation guarantors, fine-dust binders are of utmost importance for the urban climate. These 'free' (green) spaces can reduce inequalities and promote solidarity and cohesion in cities.

This second digital event will discuss with internationally experienced architects, thought-leaders and planners about the process capability of planning, the new time management of the cities and interdisciplinary solutions, which have to be found together with their users. Different approaches to the topic will be discussed across different municipalities and countries.

*SAVE THE DATE* Making Cities Fit for the Future

Veranstaltung 1: Mittwoch, 23. September • 11:00 - 12:30 MESZ
Städte rasen auf Null - städtische Reaktionen auf den Klimanotfall

Diese digitale Veranstaltung wird in Zusammenarbeit mit BABLE Smart Cities innovative und ehrgeizige Ansätze zur Erreichung der Netto-Null-Emissionen auf Stadtebene untersuchen, wobei der Schwerpunkt auf städtischen Mobilitätskonzepten liegt. Ein interaktives Format ermöglicht die Vernetzung und bietet Interessengruppen, Bürgern und Experten der Stadt einen ansprechenden Raum, um gemeinsam Lösungen und Ideen für den städtischen Übergang zu erkunden.

Veranstaltung 2: Freitag, 25. September • 10.30-11.30 Uhr MESZ
Auf Grünflächen sind wir alle gleich - vielseitige Räume für die Stadt der Zukunft

Was das Leben in unseren Städten so besonders macht, ist die Vielfalt der Lebensskripte, die entwickelt werden können, was gleichzeitig eine Herausforderung und eine Freiheit ist. Die aktuelle Pandemie hat gezeigt, wie schnell aus Vorteilen Nachteile werden können, da Städte aufgrund ihrer Dichte und ihrer Abhängigkeit von ununterbrochenen Lieferketten besonders dem Diktat eines Virusausbruchs ausgesetzt sind. Dennoch haben städtische Gebiete ein großes kreatives Potenzial.

Offene und grüne Räume sind heute mehr denn je ein wesentlicher Bestandteil von Städten, sie garantieren eine gewisse Freiheit, denn an diesen Orten können wir Vielfalt erleben und fördern, uns auf informelle Weise treffen und entspannen. Grün- und Freiflächen erfordern daher besondere Aufmerksamkeit von Planungsdisziplinen und von Stadtentwicklungsinstitutionen. Freiflächen, ob im Erdgeschoss oder auf Dächern, müssen als vielseitige Räume betrachtet werden, denn hier liegt ihre Stärke: Regenwasserspeicher, Lüftungsgaranten, Feinstaubbinder sind für das Stadtklima von größter Bedeutung. Diese „freien“ (grünen) Räume können Ungleichheiten verringern und Solidarität und Zusammenhalt in Städten fördern.

Diese zweite digitale Veranstaltung wird mit international erfahrenen Architekten, Vordenkern und Planern über die Prozessfähigkeit der Planung, das neue Zeitmanagement der Städte und interdisziplinäre Lösungen diskutieren, die gemeinsam mit ihren Nutzern gefunden werden müssen. Verschiedene Ansätze zum Thema werden in verschiedenen Gemeinden und Ländern diskutiert.